Who knew publishing could be so hard?! I’m in the middle of the editing process, and I’m beginning to realize that I know nothing about writing and my editor knows everything. I really think I need to include her name as a co-author. It is painful to see paragraphs of your writing being cut out of your novel. These were words I’d labored over, trying to find the exact words to share the exact feeling of each of my characters. These words were my babies. It’s painful to let them go. I know my editor knows best, but it still doesn’t make it any easier. I have 8 days to complete all the changes. That sounds like a lot of time, right? Well, no. Between homeschooling and a 1 year old who won’t sleep, I’m just about ready to throw in the towel.

Cole had tubes put in his ears Thursday. They said the anesthesia could affect the child in two different ways. They told us 50% of children just sleep a lot after the surgery.  The other 50% are inconsolable. I’ll give you one guess which one Cole was? Yep. He screamed from the west side of Knoxville until we got home. It didn’t matter what we did. I felt horrible.

I’m wondering how these writers with children do it? Do they just leave them to their own demise and lock themselves away alone and write, hoping that when they come out their children are still alive? Or, do they have perfect blogger-mom children who sit and silently do puzzles or look at books for hours and ask, “Mother, could we please sit just a moment longer,” when she says she’s finished writing?

My parents were life savers last night. They came out and watched the boys, while I shut myself upstairs and worked. I got to page 100 out of 433. It was a start, at least. I’ve figured out that if I can do about 48 pages a day for the next 7 days, I can get it all done. Ha!

Anyway, my parents left at about 9:30, thinking my little Cole was going to sleep. For some reason he revived and got his second wind. I tried to put him down twice. At 11:20, I finally had to just leave him in his bed. At 11:33 Cole was screaming “all done,” in the worst banshee scream possible.  On the video monitor I could tell that he had thrown everything from his bed in the floor, he’d somehow scooted his crib by the light switch and was turning it off and on like a strobe light. Periodically, he would begin shaking the side rail so hard, I was afraid it would break. Do writers really work like this? I’m not sure it’s worth it. I don’t think I’ve slept since before I was pregnant.

I’m not trying to have a pity party, or maybe I am.  I’m not sure. I think I’m just ‘sharing.’ That’s the creative, Facebook way to say it, when you’re really just whining.

One thing I do know is that God has given me my words for a reason. I think my novel will make a difference in someone’s life. I pray that it will. I just hope I can live long enough to edit it and see it come out in print.

That’s all for Sneak Peek Saturday. I have to go do some more editing. Heaven help us all at the Baker house.

