DSC07047
We had to improvise. I was really surprised that there wasn’t more in the stores (since I procrastinated..heehee). But the boys didn’t care!

DSC07050My attempt at an aircraft carrier cake.

DSC07053Kool-aid airplane drinks and marshmallow clouds!

I just cut the cardboard drink carrier things they came in, to make the wings for the planes. Carson thought these were so cool, with the propellers on the ends. Made the labels myself. Pulled the clipart from the Internet.

 

DSC07127

DSC07128

Carson’s Airfield

We used this for the boys as they were arriving to the party.  It worked so much better than I thought.  They loved it, and it kept them busy until everyone showed up.  And, again, it was cheap!  Dollar Tree black poster board and a white crayon.  Carson already have the planes.

           DSC07059                                 DSC07060Sweetest little boys–especially that one in the blue.  I can’t believe he’s 6!

Art Time…

We did a step-by-step drawing of Dusty Crophopper on canvases.  They were only $1.69 at Ollie’s.  I loved seeing all of the different artistic abilities of the boys.  They were very serious and very proud of their finished products!  The best thing about these is that they can take them home and keep them forever!

                  DSC07054

DSC07055

DSC07056

Playtime in the back yard!

                   DSC07067

DSC07068

                             DSC07070

DSC07077

DSC07075

DSC07074

I realized that, despite my efforts and their obvious excitement with all we did at the party, they would have been just as satisfied and excited if we had done nothing else, but play outside with each other.

Made me remember the important things–friendship and making memories.  It’s not the presentation or the planning.  Even though it sounds cliche, it truly is just being together.  I’m so thankful I’ve had 6 years to ‘be together’ with my little buddy, Carson.

